What Happens If I Get a DWI While Under the Age of 21 in New York?

What happens if I get a DWI while under the age of 21 in New York

If you’re under the legal drinking age in New York, you may find yourself in a similar situation. If you’ve been pulled over and found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.05% or higher, you’ll be charged with a traditional DWI. This type of charge can result in a year’s license suspension, up to a year in jail, and fines of up to $1000. This makes your case that much more challenging.

You can also face civil infractions for driving under the influence of alcohol. In New York, drivers under the age of 21 who refuse to take a chemical test are liable for a year’s license suspension and a $125 civil fine. These arrests have the potential to negatively affect promising young people for decades. However, because underage drivers have the same rights as adult drivers, these cases can be won. An experienced attorney can fight the charges and help you avoid a lengthy criminal or administrative process.

If you’re under the legal drinking age in New York, you may face a number of consequences. First, a police officer may demand that you submit to a breathalyzer test. In New York, the state must prove that you were driving under the influence of alcohol. You could lose your license or even face a year’s suspension. If you want to avoid these penalties, a legal attorney is the best person to help you. They have the resources and experience to help you get the best possible outcome.

In addition to a license suspension, you’ll face other penalties. If your BAC was over the legal limit, your license will be revoked for a year. A conviction for underage drinking and driving will impact your future employment opportunities and college admissions. That’s why aggressive representation is vital. Contact a New York DWI attorney today to learn more about how you can protect yourself.

DWI charges are the most serious penalties. Even if your BAC is lower than 0.02%, you could be charged with a DUI. A New Mexico DWI can even lead to jail time. Depending on your circumstances, you may also have your driver’s license suspended until you turn 21. You can also face fines up to five thousand dollars. If you get convicted of a second DWI, you’ll have to pay a fine between $1,000 and $5,000.

Depending on the circumstances of the arrest, you could also face a felony DWI charge if you have previous alcohol convictions. These are serious crimes, and they can land you in jail or lose your driving privileges. Other penalties include losing your driver’s license, and it will appear on your background check. Potential employers may think twice before hiring you if they see a DWI conviction on your record.

If you’re under 21 and have been arrested for a DWI while under the legal drinking age, you could face jail time and high fines. Fortunately, New York’s Zero Tolerance Law applies to those under 21 years old. It prohibits drivers who have consumed any alcohol to drive under the age of 21. The law also requires police officers to administer breathalyzer tests in order to determine whether the driver’s BAC level is above the legal limit.